The Cushion Correspondent

An eBay bargain gets a retro paint job

If I had a pound for every designer or crafter I’ve interviewed who’s said “for a unique look on a budget, try painting old funiture” well… I’d probably have about a tenner but the point is, upcycling is so trendy right now it’s almost embarrassing. But that doesn’t mean I don’t love it. The thing is, you CAN get a unique look on a budget and you get to create something that’s truly your own.

Take this chest of drawers, for example. I found this little gem on eBay for just £25, a proper mid-20th century piece of furniture that was just crying out to be painted in funky, retro colours.

I bought a couple of Dulux tester pots in Celebration and Night Jewels 4 for the legs and top and was thinking about going for mint for the main body until I found this gorgeous teal colour from Graham & Brown. Check out the results:

I originally did this back in my old flat where it lived in my bedroom and was immediately cluttered up with make up, jewellery and general bits and bobs.

Now I’ve moved I need to find a new home for it. I’m thinking maybe the hallway

***

Sharing is caring. Check out more fabulous ideas on the following blogs:

Free Pretty Things

High Heels & Grills

Life With The Crust Cut Off

Chic on a Shoestring Decorating

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2012 by in Projects and tagged , , .
