The Cushion Correspondent

Love the look: Contemporary gothic

1. Beetle lampshade, £40 Roost Living; 2. Hanna Bjarnadottir raven hanger, £39 Skandivis; 3. Etienne sofa set, £1498 Littlewoods; 4. Bourbon tallboy chest, £279 Made.com; 5. Shell print cushion, £8 Matalan6. Diablo wallpaper, £60 a roll Graham & Brown7. Drayton smoke glass pendant, £80 BHS8. Fortjust bowl, £5 Ikea9. Natvide duvet set, £20 Ikea10. Window mirror, £90 Next11. Distortion candlestick, £24 Rume12. Inferno double divan bed, £800 Sofa.com.

Hurray! It’s Halloween. I can legitimately post about gothic style without people thinking I’m a freak.

Because the truth is I’ve always had a bit of a thing for the goth look, as evidenced HERE and HERE. What can I say? I’m a child of the 90s. Mine was the era of Edward Scissorhands, The Craft, and Interview With a Vampire. The Point Horror series was launched in ’91 and, trashy as they were, I loved them… until I was about 14 when I discovered Victorian literature and the terrifying romance of the fin-de-siecle (true story: I kept a copy of Bram Stoker’s Dracula under my pillow for about six months until my mum finally confiscated it).

In fact this is basically my dream house (one of, anyway):

Isn’t it fabulous? It’s not far from where I live in London and I am keeping an eye out for a ‘For Sale’ sign although given the area the chances of it going on the market for less than about £2million are slim to say the least. Time for an invocation methinks. All together now: Hail to the Guardians of the Watchtowers of the East…

Happy Hallowe’en!

One comment on “Love the look: Contemporary gothic

  1. quenbysheree
    October 31, 2012

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2012 by in Ideas, Inspiration and tagged , , , .
