The Cushion Correspondent

WHAT’S NEW: Antique mirror

1930s antique mirror

WHAT IS IT?

A bevelled edge antique mirror. I have no idea what decade it’s from because it was a gift (see below) but if I had to guess I’d say 1930s. Some people (probably the ones trying to flog it) would call that Art Deco but I think that’s pushing it a bit. Still, it’s lovely and in honour of the era I have added a string of pearls and a postcard featuring an old Mills & Boon illustation. Kitsch or what?

[I’m beginning to think I should change my ‘WHAT’S NEW’ section to ‘what’s old’ because almost everything I write about is vintage!]

WHAT’S IT FOR?

It’s a mirror. Take a wild guess.

WHERE DID YOU GET IT?

It was a Christmas present from my dad. Actually you might recognise it. In a bizarre twist of fate*, it turns out it has already graced this blog with its presence HERE. It came from the Kingston Antiques Centre but if you’re looking for something similar, you shouldn’t have too much trouble. Mirrors like this are always popping up at antiques fairs, on Gumtree and on eBay. Prices tend to be around £30-£40.

* Not that bizarre. My dad reads my blog after all. Where do you think he got the idea from?

WHY DO YOU NEED IT?

Uhh… awkward. The truth is I don’t. In fact when my dad brought it up to North London for me my boyfriend’s first comment (out of earshot of my dad, obvs) was “where the hell are you going to put that?” We don’t want for mirrors in our flat but this one is so fabulous I decided to move a few things around. It now takes pride of place in the bedroom next to my dresser, replacing a rather boring Ikea one which I’d painted white. I moved the Ikea one out to the hallway, added a few art postcards and actually I think it works much better there.

White painted mirror

One comment on “WHAT’S NEW: Antique mirror

  1. Pingback: The 1930s Are Starting All Over Again - The Little Jazz Baby

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2013 by in My Pad, Shopping, Vintage and tagged , , , .
